Engineers' Forum Nagpur
Enlighting the Engineering Fraternity
  Home    l About Fourm    l Activity    l Members    l Insights    l About Nagpur    l News    l Contact us   l

Guest of Honour

Engineers’ Day - 2014

Padma Vibhushan Er. G. Madhavan Nair

Ex. Chairman, ISRO

  Dr. G. Madhavan Nair, Former Chairman of the Indian Space Research Organization (ISRO) is   presently the President, International Academy of Astronautics (IAA), Paris; Chairman,
  Centre for Management Development, Govt. of Kerala. He held various posts such as
  Secretary to Govt. of India, Chairman, Board of Governors, IIT-Patna; & was Council Member,
  Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore.

  His wife Smt. Radhakumari was also an ISRO Scientist and both of them are staying at thiruvananthapuram. They have two sons Dileepan and Jayakrishnan. And grand children are Aditya and Narayan.

 Born in Neyyattinkara, Thiruvananthapuram, Kerala on October 31, 1943, Dr. G. Madhavan Nair graduated in Engineering from the Kerala University in 1966 and after training at Bhabha Atomic Research Center (BARC), Mumbai joined Thumba Equatorial Rocket Launching Station (TERLS) in 1967. He is one of the pioneers who had the opportunity to work with the founding father of ISRO, Dr. Vikram Sarabhai. During his tenure of more than four decades in ISRO he had made significant contributions to the Indian space programme.

As Chairman of ISRO
As the Chairman of Indian Space Research Organization, Dr. Nair was entrusted with the responsibility for the development of space technology and its application to national development. During his tenure as Chairman, ISRO/Secretary, DOS, twenty seven successful missions were accomplished i.e., INSAT-3E, Resourcesat-1, Edusat, Cartosat-1, Hamsat-1, INSAT-4A, PSLV-C5, GSLV-F01, PSLV-C6, Cartosat-2, INSAT-4B, SRE-1, PSLV-C7, PSLV-C8, GSLV-F04, INSAT-4CR, PSLV-C10, Cartosat-2A, IMS-1, PSLV-C9, Chandrayaan-1, PSLV-C11, PSLV-C12, RISAT-2, ANUSAT, PSLV-C14 and Ocensat-2. He has taken initiatives towards development of futuristic technologies to enhance the space systems capabilities as well as to reduce the cost of access to space. Nair has given major thrust for evolving application programmes such as tele-education and telemedicine for meeting the needs of society at large. As Chairman Space Commission, Dr. Nair is responsible for chalking out the future plan for space research in the country. Major thrust are in scientific exploration of outer space using the Astrosat and Chandrayaan (moon) missions apart from implementing schemes for telemedicine, tele-education and disaster management support systems. He is also providing guidance and leadership in undertaking new technology developments related to launch vehicle, spacecraft for communication, remote sensing and applications programmes to meet societal needs.

  In the international arena, Dr. Nair has led the Indian delegations for bilateral cooperation and negotiations with many Space Agencies and Countries, especially with France, Russia, Brazil, Israel, etc., and has been instrumental in working out mutually beneficial international cooperative agreements. Dr. Nair has led the Indian delegation to the S&T Sub-Committee of United Nations Committee on Peaceful Uses of Outer Space (UN-COPUOS) since 1998.

  His main focus has always been to achieve self-reliance in the high technology areas and to bring the benefits of space technology to India's development, specially targeting the needs of the rural and poor sections of society.

  His passion is popularizing Science among school children and finding solutions to common mans problems through the application of science and technology.

Dr. Nair has won several awards such as

  • National Aeronautical Award,
  • FIE foundation's Award,
  • Shri Om Prakash Bhasin Award,
  • Swadeshi Sastra Puraskar Award,
  • Vikram Sarabhai Memorial Gold Medal of the Indian Science Congress Association,
  • Dr. Yelavarthy Nayudamma Memorial Award-2004,
  • HK Firodia Award-2005,
  • Fifth Shri Balvantbhai Parekh Award,
  • Lokmanya Tilak Award from Tilak Smarak Trust,
  • Sree Chithira Thirunal Award from Sree Chithira Thirunal Trust,
  • MP Birla Memorial Award 2009,
  • Bhu Ratna Award,
  • Mohamed Abdu Rahiman Sahib National Award,
  • AV Rama Rao Technology Award,
  • Chanakya Award etc.
  • He has also received Gold Medal from the Prime Minister at the 94th Indian Science Congress at Chidambaram in 2007.
  • M. M. Chugani award for 2006, conferred by Indian Physics Association at IIT Mumbai during March 2008.
  • Raja Rammohan Puraskar award on the 236th birth anniversary of Raja Rammohan Roy at Kolkata during May 2008.

    The Government of India conferred Dr. Madhavan Nair the highly coveted awards Padma Bhushan in 1998 and Padma Vibhushan in 2009 in recognition of his services to the country and society.


    Dr. G. Madhavan Nair has been conferred with Degree of Doctor of Philosophy / Degree of Doctor of Science (Honoris Causa) from 19 universities and IITs.

  • D. Philosophy by Punjab Technical University, Jalandhar (2003).
  • D.Sc. by Sri Venkateswara University, Tirupati (2004).
  • D.Sc. by Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi (2004)
  • D.Sc. by Rani Durgavati Vishwavidyalaya, Jabalpur (2005)
  • D.Sc. by Indira Gandhi National Open University, Delhi (2005)
  • D.Sc. by Cochin University of Science and Technology, Kochi (2006)
  • D.Sc. by University of Mysore ( 2006)
  • D.Sc. by GJ University, Hissar (2006)
  • D.Sc. by Rajiv Gandhi Technical University, Bhopal (2007)
  • D.Sc. by University of Kerala, Kerala (2007)
  • D.Sc. by SRM University, Chennai (2008)
  • D.Sc. by Pandit Ravishankar Shukla University, Raipur (2009)
  • D.Sc. by Karnatak University, Dharwad (2009)
  • D.Sc. by Indian Institute of Technology Bombay (2009)
  • D.Sc. by Indian Institute of Technology Kharagpur (2009)
  • D.Sc. by North Eastern Hill University, Shillong
  • D.Sc. by Vishvesariah Technological University, Belgaum ( 2010 )
  • D.Sc. by Ch. Charan Singh University, Meerut ( 2010 ).